Get Big Pivots

Will other jurisdictions in Colorado’s Roaring Fork Valley follow Pitkin County’s lead?

Most if not all jurisdictions in the Roaring Fork Valley have adopted climate action plans. Might some or even all of them adopt regulations that—like Pitkin County—elevate the requirements for buildings to tamp down use of fossil fuels?

Phi Filerman, community sustainability manager for the Community Office for Resource Efficiency, has already been having conversations with some building and other officials in the jurisdictions between Aspen and Glenwood Springs.

The key question she is asking in those conversations is what barriers exist to adoption of building standards somewhat similar to, but not necessarily identical to, those adopted by Pitkin County. And then how can those barriers be overcome?

Existing codes vary in the valley, which has five towns—Aspen, Snowmass Village, Basalt, Carbondale and Glenwood Springs—as well as two counties. A significant portion of the valley is in Eagle County.

See also:

Pitkin County takes aim at energy use of high-end mansions

Follow Me
Big Pivots

Subscribe to free Big Pivotse-magazine

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This